Monday, March 31, 2008

Sick...Again!!!

Yet again, I'm at home lying in bed sick as a dog. On Saturday, I woke up with a little bit of a sore throat at about 9AM and by noon I felt like I wanted to die. I spent the majority of the weekend with a fever of 39.5C (that's 104F, for those that are metrically challenged) and it completely sucked, to say the least. The whole weekend I couldn't even get out of bed. On Monday morning, Mr. Kim, my academy's manager, came and picked me up to take me to a doctor. They did a bunch of tests and they're pretty sure I don't have pneumonia but it could be bronchitis or a really bad cold. All I know is that now it's Tuesday afternoon, I've been stuck at home for 4 straight days, missed 2 days of work, totally inconvenienced a bunch of my co-workers, and I'm still coughing like I'm gonna hack up a lung. I really need to get better, like ASAP!
On a positive, and cute side note, I found out that Jin, one of my kindie girls, keeps saying "Suji teecher sick, Suji teecher very sick!" She's so cute!

Tuesday, March 11, 2008

Contact Info

I know that I've been a complete lazy ass for not doing this earlier and that this post is coming 3 months late but I figured... Better late than never. Also now that I've moved and I feel much better in my new apartment I felt compelled to just do it -- although technically the change in my apartment makes no difference since my contact address is at the school. Oh well, here it is:

Address: (mail and packages are always welcome)
YBM/ECC Su-Seong
SB Tower.3F
940, Jisan-Dong, Suseong-Gu
Daegu, 706-090 KOREA

And just in case, my cel is:
010-5118-3143
(keep in mind that the time difference is 13 hours ahead of the East Coast)


MUA!

Sunday, March 9, 2008

Cinderella

As the title would lead you to believe I've spent most of this weekend feeling like effing Cinderella (like in that old picture of me cleaning up after the food fight in Tati and Caro's old apartment). Since I was completely sick and tired of sleeping in a dark little dungeon, I asked Hannah if I could move into Gabe's apartment when he left. He lived in my same building but on the third floor. This apartment is not necessarily that much better but it has two big pluses that made it worthwhile to lug my shit up 3 floors. First, since it isn't on the first floor it doesn't smell as bad cuz it doesn't keep as much humidity. And second (and this is so huge and yet supremely underestimated): it has a window. Also, and I didn't really know this, I can look out my window and see the mountains. That is so cool. I feel like this place is so much more livable. So this weekend I was planning on moving in here in a leisurely fashion on Saturday during the day, only on Friday afternoon I was informed that the new person would be moving into my apartment on Saturday at noon. Mind you, I had not packed anything because I've been busy with school and doing end of the month reports and everything. So luckily Liz, being a great friend, offered to help me, and after work we went to my apartment and started carrying up and packing up as much as we could. Then we cleaned the downstairs apartment. When Jure got into Daegu at 1AM he joined in on the fun. We went to bed at 4AM having done most of the stuff, and then we woke up at 9:30 and finished carrying and cleaning everything in the downstairs apartment by 11:30. Seriously, considering that when I got that apartment two of the walls were covered in mold, there was year-old food and shit under the bed, and the kitchen was so disgusting that there were several centimeters of grease covering every surface, I left this place completely spotless for the new girl. Then Jure and I had the lovely task of cleaning the upstairs apartment, which, as Jure put it, was completely raunchy. We cleaned the floor on our hands and knees with a scrubber to get off ingrained dirt, hence the Cinderella reference. Jure cleaned the window which was dirty and moldy as hell. I attacked the bathroom which was so incredibly disgusting. It was covered in mold from floor to ceiling. It was all over the walls and floor and the sink was so stopped up with gross gobs of moldy hair that i had to stick a hanger in it and it was still stopped up. To top it all off the pipe in the bathroom sink was so rusted through that I grabbed it to try to move it and my finger went right through... a metal pipe people. WTF?? Then we cleaned the kitchen which again was covered in grease all in the cabinets and on the burners and everything. We finally finished at 8PM and I wanted to just pass out, but we hadn't eaten anything so we went out and I grabbed some Mandu at the 24hour place. Today we hung out with Megan and Luke, the two new teachers. Jure and I took them to Costco and to Dmart and then we headed downtown for a little while. So that was my weekend cleaning and grocery shopping. Now into yet another week of dealing with the children. But I will be going back to Hapkido this week because I refuse to miss it anymore.