She arrived on Saturday and we had to suffer through the two hour trip back from Incheon to the inner city of Seoul. But we did it.
We dropped off all the suitcases and then we went to go eat Samgyupsal. I think she liked it, but not as much as I do (I LOVE me some Samgyupsal!). Then we went next door to Pish and Grill and got some yummy Soju cocktails I know Susa really liked, "It's like candy that will fuck you up"). After that we went back to the apartment and Susa proceeded to fall asleep. I figured that she would because a 13 hour time difference is kind of rough but getting her to wake up was nearly impossible. We were supposed to go out so at like 10 I started trying to get her up and that did not happen. So I let her sleep a little more and then at like 11 I decided that even if we didn't go out she still needed to wash her face, so I started getting her to wake up (aka torturing her). Most of this was captured on camera in what I can only describe as one of the funniest movies ever! I love it! When I finally got her to wake up, I said, "ok, just go wash your face and go back to sleep" and she was like "no...I don't like that." So we got ready and headed over to Hongdae (the clubbing neighborhood near Hongguk University).
We dropped off all the suitcases and then we went to go eat Samgyupsal. I think she liked it, but not as much as I do (I LOVE me some Samgyupsal!). Then we went next door to Pish and Grill and got some yummy Soju cocktails I know Susa really liked, "It's like candy that will fuck you up"). After that we went back to the apartment and Susa proceeded to fall asleep. I figured that she would because a 13 hour time difference is kind of rough but getting her to wake up was nearly impossible. We were supposed to go out so at like 10 I started trying to get her up and that did not happen. So I let her sleep a little more and then at like 11 I decided that even if we didn't go out she still needed to wash her face, so I started getting her to wake up (aka torturing her). Most of this was captured on camera in what I can only describe as one of the funniest movies ever! I love it! When I finally got her to wake up, I said, "ok, just go wash your face and go back to sleep" and she was like "no...I don't like that." So we got ready and headed over to Hongdae (the clubbing neighborhood near Hongguk University).
We ended up at "TinPan" like I always do when I go there. God that place is such a shithole. I can't stand it at all. Luckily Susa had a fun time, but I am totally over it. There were so many stupid, drunk foreigners (sorry, I don't mean to be a traitor to my people but they seriously annoy the bejesus out of me, Ugghhhh!). Anyways, we were there until 5AM and then we were able to take the metro back at 5:30AM when the subways reopened. By the time we got back it was already light outside :-(. So we showered (cuz I would never want to go to sleep with God-knows-what all over me from that bar) and passed out.
On Sunday we woke up at like 11 or 12 and after we got ready we went to Namdaemun Market. We were able to get some cute, small things (like Susa got some sunglasses, and some cute imitation Chanel stuff). She found this amazing Louis Vuitton wallet but it was W50,000 so she didn't get it. I found a rack for my clothes, like the kind that they have in stores, for like W20,000. The problem was that the weather got pretty shitty. It was raining, and kind of cold and uncomfortable. We walked all of Namdaemun and a little bit of Myong-Dong but we were tired and a little out of it. I realized that I had left my mom's glasses prescription back at the apartment so we had to go back to get it and then go all the way back to Namdaemun. On the way there, I experienced one of the most frustrating, horrible taxi rides of my life. We got in a taxi to try to get to Namdaemun faster and instead it was a waste of money and time and definitely my sanity. We ended up having to take the subway anyway. We managed to make it in time to get the glasses and then we went to Itaewon to get shawarmas. After that it started raining a lot more, so after yet another frustrating walk we just decided to call it a night.
Monday we had an early train (10:05AM) to Daegu so we had to rush, but we made it in time. We got into Daegu at like 2PM and Susa finally got to see where I live. We unpacked a bit and then we met Mi Kyong for lunch. We had Posam which Susa really didn't like, and then we went out for coffee and chatted for a while. At night we headed into Downtown because I wanted Susa to be able to get there by herself. We just walked around a bit, and Susa fell in love with the million and one boutiques that have super cute clothes. And we also found a bar to have a quick drink.
Today I had to work but Susa had agreed to meet with Mi Kyong and go see some stuff at her University, so at least she wasn't stuck at home all day. And before she went she passed by the school and got meet my kids. In the afternoon, I finished work at 6 and we went to get Boor chicken, since poor Susa hadn't really eaten anything all day. We went to Hapkido at 8:30 and I sucked yet again. Susa says I don't attack enough. WTF! After Hapkido Kwanjangnim took us to eat Makchan and Wangalbi with Nam Sa, Jun Pyo and Ju Sung. We had a good time although the communication was difficult, of course.
It was a nice night overall.
No comments:
Post a Comment