I finally did it. I finally got my LASIK eye surgery. Yes, I know that I'm slightly crazy for getting eye surgery in a country where I'm all alone (practically) and God knows what could've happened but we all know that I'm wacky and impulsive like that... so it's ok. It actually went well (or so the doctor says). I'm not gonna lie, it was not fun by any means, but the actual surgery was not that bad. The first part feels like they have your eyeball in the palm of their hand and they are squeezing the shit out of it. But that's the worst part. The second part was not really that bad at all. It's kind of nerve-wracking but not painful. The really bad part was afterwards. After the surgery Liz walked me home, because I could not see AT ALL, and my eyes were really hurting. The doctor said to try to get some sleep and it would get better but i seriously could NOT do it. It felt like my eyeballs were on fire. It was one of the most uncomfortable and painful things, I've experienced. So we ended up having to go back to the doctor's office so that he could give me a pain killer shot, which (Thank God!!) allowed me to sleep a bit. I owe Liz sooooo huge for taking care of me and dealing with my grumpiness. I was so bad but I get really cranky when I'm in pain. I don't think it's an irrational reaction. Then around midnight Nick, the bf, came to relieve Liz from Susy duty. He was calling me Jet Girl all night because I was wearing these funny plastic things that were taped to my face and protect my eyes. He found the goggles to absolutely hilarious. I just felt like an idiot. But the important thing is that now I can see and my eyes, though not completely better yet, are improving steadily. The right one is still a little blood-shot and they feel dry and a little uncomfortable sometimes but for the most part it's great just to be able to see.
Aside from the LASIK I had a pretty good week. I spent a couple of night in Siji with Nick. And I'm aware that I've slipped it into the blog kind of inconspicuously but yes, I have a new boyfriend. As I said, his name is Nick and we met a few weeks ago (when I first mentioned him in the blog). We've been having a lot of fun so far and I'm hoping that it will only get better. On another fun side-note, I taught my first, ladies styling class yesterday at salsa. There were only a few girls there but I thought it went ok (especially considering that they don't really speak English and I obviously don't speak Korean).
That's it for me (for now at least).
Sunday, June 15, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment