Well... not so much anymore but I've been pretty sick for the past few days. On Saturday I had a fever of about 38.5 C for most of the day (that like 101 F) and I felt like complete crap. Anyone that has known me when I've been sick knows that I get absolutely misereable. Poor Jure came down and had to deal with me all weekend. I thought it was very nice of him to take care of me when i was sick, although now probably he'll get sick which sucks. And the truth is that i have no idea where I could have gotten so horribly sick from. On Thursday morning I woke up feeling a little bit icky, but not too bad, and I went to work. After an hour I started feeling really bad. After two it was awful. By the third hour of the day I was really out of it. During the kindie's lunchtime I laid down in their playroom and tried to sleep for a few minutes but it didn't help so Hannah (my academic director) took me to a nearby clinic. Now to the good news of the bit... I went to the doctor and: was seen, examined, had x-ray's taken and analyzed, was given a shot, got my prescription and all this within a 40 minute time-frame. On top of that this whole thing cost me W6600. That's roughly less than $7 people. Then we went down to the pharmacy and I got my medications (4 of them for a 3 day period, also within 10 minutes) and they cost me a whopping W2400 (about $2.50). How ridiculous is that? After that Kate was nice enough to come and pick us up and take me home because I really don't think that I could have walked all the way home. I spent most of Thursday sleeping
On Friday I went in to work (though I still wasn't feeling altogether better) because I really didn't want to miss the Kinder kid's graduation. They were sooo cute. They did their little plays and songs. We had to socialize with their parents (and since I had two classes I kept feeling like I was the rope in a tug-of-war) but I got to hold Julie's little brother who was super cute and gave me a kiss and told me he loved me. Then I had lunch with all the Korean teachers, but I didn't eat very much since I still felt crappy. After teaching my 5 afternoon classes I went straight home. I feel guilty that I missed 3 Hapkido classes this week but with how bad I've been feeling I definitely could not have gone to class. Now luckily my days of teaching 10 classes per day are finally over. This week there are not kinder classes (since they graduated...Duh) and so I actually get to sleep in for a change. I spoke to Hannah and I told her, "No more 5 kindie classes in one day." I mean, don't get me wrong, they're adorable, but after 5 hours with them you're completely drained, to then have to do 5 more afternoon classes. No way. But now that the new teachers are coming it should be ok.
Overall, February's been really draining, since my life has been nothing but work and Hapkido. Still, Hapkido is going really well. I'm learning so much. It's all pretty neat defensive stuff and I can actually see myself improving. I just need to remember all the different combinations, but right now it's mostly stuff to do when someone grabs your arm, so you end up like twisting their wrist in a specific way and making them feel like you're going to break their arm. It's pretty cool. I can't wait to get to the part when you flip people ;-p.
Now with a (hopefully) less draining month coming up I will (again, hopefully) be able to do a better job of posting. And pics of the kindie graduation are to come.
MUA
PS: When I was sick one of my favorite kids, Amy (who is seriously one of the coolest kids on the planet) wrote me a note saying "To Susi Amy Susi are you ok? I'm sad Susi cold." How effing cute is that??? I'm gonna miss my kindie kids so much!
Sunday, February 24, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment