Friday, February 1, 2008

Return from the land where two-by-fours are pillows...

Lol! It's 3AM and I'm pretty delirious. I worked a really long day. I taught 10 classes. I mostly let the kindie kids mess around. And my afternoon classes went ok except I'm currently having one of two extremes in my classes; either the kids are talkative (but not really in a good/interactive/participate-in-class kind of way), or they are so quiet that all they do is sit there and look at me. After I was done teaching I was supposed to do my evaluations but I was so not in the mood. So I made some flashcards for my Wake-up 6A class. Then after work I had an hour of Hapkido. Only, at about 4PM I started to really feel sore. My legs were hurting and my ass felt like it was on fire. I went in and tried to stretch a little before class and I was able to do the class ok. BTW we learned this awesome wrist twisting thing where doing the most minimal thing you can totally overpower someone and make them cry for their mommy. But I need to increase my grip strength and overall arm, wrist, upper body strength in order to make it really effective. It's pretty freaking cool though. After Hapkido I felt like I could barely move. Every inch of my body hurt (still hurts) like crazy. I met up with Jenny, Liz and Katie--the new teacher--to go to the Jimjilbang (the sauna house). We figured it would be Katie's initiation like it was mine. We showered and took in a wet and a dry sauna. And then I laid down in one of the hot rooms and had a nice little nap............ on a two-by-four. Whatever, I'm in Korea. When in Rome... Then afterwards we showered again and headed out. I feel so clean. Like I cleansed all the toxins out of my body. It was really nice and relaxing. Although I am still in an absurd amount of pain because of Hapkido. It's just been two months of no real physically taxing exercise, and now all of a sudden my body is just thrown into the deep end. Well now I'm home. And its cold (-3 C). And I need some sleep.

1 comment:

Tatiana Bengochea said...

I'm so proud... give it a few days, you'll be fine and kicking butt in no time :)

MWA!