Friday, July 4, 2008

It's that time of the month...

No, I don't have my period. That's not what I meant you sick-minded individuals. It's monthly evaluations time. As always, I have procrastinated to the last second and now evals are due tonight and I'm still not finished. Furthermore, I'm having trouble mustering the energy or drive to even get going on them. In my defense, the shit has really been hitting the fan at work. It all started with what I mentioned in my previous blog and it only got worse from there. At our monthly teacher's meeting we came to discover that, because they are splitting monthly intensive classes over two pay periods, we aren't going to be paid overtime for doing a substantially larger amount of work. Yes, it sucks ass. In their defense, the dates of the kids vacations (and thus the summer intensive classes) were determined by the government, so it's not really their decision to screw us. Or is it? Maybe it's some big X-files type conspiracy with the government. I don't know.

What I do know is that ever since we found this out, almost everyone has been in an extremely foul mood at work. I think it just came at a really bad time because most of us foreign teachers had been feeling dicked around for a while (Luke's apartment is a shit hole, Megan's is infested with bugs, Kate hasn't been helped to get to an important doctor's appointment, I haven't had a computer for more than 4 months now and yet I'm expected to make tests, reviews, worksheets and tons of other stuff, oh and don't even get me started on Liz, the poor girl's frustrations have reached epic proportions). All of these things and then to feel like yet another thing is getting thrown on, things came to a head. I feel kind of bad for out academic director, after all this is not entirely her fault, but it is her job to be our liaison and make sure that the things we need get done. Whatever. Then to have to start yet another month without any resolution and tons of work to be done. It's been a stressful week. But enough venting.

The ray of sunshine in my life has definitely been getting to spend time with Nick. I'm trying to take advantage of time now before he has to go to the States for a month. I know that it will not be too long, but I'm gonna be lonely without my Ninja. Last Sunday he had his black belt test for Tae Kwon Do. I think he did really well, especially on the sparring part. I helped him practice for that part on Saturday during fight club and I'm still nursing a few monstrous bruises :-P. He doesn't know the results yet but I'm willing to be optimistic.

Luckily, today is Friday so I get a couple of days to rest and help Nick move out of his apartment. And then on Saturday night he and his two best friends here, Stephen and Tyler, are having their big farewell party. It should be a lot of fun. They're having something called a "Sweaty Marker Party." Now I had never heard of this but apparently the idea is that everyone wears a white t-shirt and carries around a sharpie marker and throughout the party (and as the level of intoxication increases) people write on each other. A very strategic place on my body has already been claimed as a box will be drawn around it and the words "My boyfriend is a cage-fighter" will be written in it. I'm amused, to say the least. Anyways, I'm looking forward to that and a couple of weekends ahead as the following is Mudfest. Yay!!

So that's it for now.

No comments: