Tuesday, July 15, 2008

Mudfest!!

So this past weekend was Mudfest and honestly...

It was freaking awesome. It's like the craziest and most chaotic environment ever and then just for the heck of it everyone is covered in mud. There's mud wrestling, mud pits, mud slides, mud crowdsurfing... It's insanity. At one point I got into this mud pit with this girl Ely and Nick and as soon as I stepped in I felt someone just lunge at my legs and within half a second I was flat on my ass. It reminded me of that Dane Cook joke where he's like "Let's turn off the lights and just feel around." It's pretty wacky. The only problem is that there are certain logistical issues that you don't really consider before getting covered in mud, such as: What do you do if you get mud splashed in your eyes but your hands are also covered in mud?? Yes... um... it's problematic. But then after you just lay on the beach and veg out. Oh wait, did I mention that there extremely large quantities of alcohol involved? Most people were completely obliterated. But that's what happens when a bottle of alcohol that will fuck you up costs less than a dollar. The end of the weekend was a little bittersweet since Nick left for a month back home right after Mudfest, but we had a wonderful weekend and he'll be back soon. I wish that next year for Mudfest Susa could come back for another visit or maybe I can convice Tati and Caro and Kristi to come on down for the Muddy debauchery.
----- Nick and I all covered in Mud at the Boreyong Mud Festival
--- I was being silly. And annoying David (one of the funniest/funnest brits I've ever met) is a pastime of mine. :-p

But I must admit this has not been the only crazy weekend I've had as of late. Just the previous weekend we had an extremely off the wall experience. Last Saturday night started off great. It was Nick, Tyler and Steven's going away party. As I'd mentioned, they were having a "Sweaty Marker Party" which basically means that you wear a white t-shirt and everyone takes turns writing the most inappropriate and demeaning things they can think of. I for one had "I love hentai" (which I do not) and "Abusive girlfriend" (which I will also dispute cuz Nick likes to play fight so he's asking for it) written on my shirt. I won't even go into what kinds of horrible things were written on Nick's shirt. But it was all in good fun. After hitting up a few bars we ended up at Old Skool, which is where we normally wind up on Saturday nights to go dancing. It was awesome. The deejay even played some reggaeton and merengue. It was awesome. Obviously none of this is odd, but I'm getting to that.
As we were leaving the club (at about 4 AM maybe) Nick and I notice that there is a Korean guy a little further down the street getting pounded on by two other Korean guys. At first it seemed really bad, since it was 2 on 1, but then they started hugging, which is odd but at least it seemed like they were friends, so we decided to stay out of it and just kept walking. Behind us, Tyler had also walked out with a couple of Korean girls that we'd all been hanging out with. All of a sudden there's an ear-piercing scream and as Nick and I turn around we see that the (extremely drunk) Korean guy had reached out and grabbed one of the girls by the hair and was pulling her down to the ground. Mind you, he did not know this girl, he just randomly reached out and grabbed a girl by the hair. Immediately Tyler was trying to make this guy let go and Nick went over and landed two kicks to this guy's head and he was still not letting go. I have no idea what this guy was on but he just wasn't even feeling any pain. It was ridiculous. He finally let go and his friends made him walk away and they kept on hitting him. You just know that that bastard was in a lot of pain the next morning. But it was just one of those things that you just feel like "where did that come from?!?!?"And it turns out that as Megan was walking home she was also accosted by some crazy drunk Korean guy, who kept telling her he wanted to have sex with her. This makes me want my black belt really bad.

So yea that was my last few weekends. A little nutty but not too bad over all (except that part where Nick had to kick a guy in the face).

No comments: